A Most Amazing Women

As I get closer and closer to accomplishing something I honestly didn’t think I ever would (graduating from college). I find myself wishing that my grandmother was here. She was such an amazing women. Raised five kids, married for nearly 50 years, a nurse, and loving grandmother.

Violet Jean Bottles

Violet Jean Bottles

I always felt a special connection to her. She taught me to sew, and rip. Grandma always said, “If you are going to learn how to sew… you are going to learn how to rip those seams apart when you mess them up”.  She was most literally the little old lady from Pasadena. She drove her 1969 Camaro until late in her life. And she was perfect in her grandchildren’s eyes.

Grandma Jean and her Camaro

Grandma Jean and her Camaro

So, in a little less than a year as I don my cap and gown and walk with my friends to collect our diplomas, I will be thinking of her. Knowing that she has the best seat in the house with my other amazing grandparents, saying “Go Cougs!”.

Me and Grandma Jean

Me and Grandma Jean

Leave a Reply

