Where’s home? Take three lefts, you can’t miss it.

Billy Beane once said… “How can you not be romantic about baseball?”

I happen to agree with him. I know no other way think about baseball.

With pitchers and catchers reporting for training in about a week, I can’t help but get excited and feel more than a little nostalgic.

I remember the first game my dad ever took me to… a Mariners/Yankees game.

I was six years old.

I remember the hat he bought me, much to big to fit on my head. It kept falling over my eyes while he walked me up the cement tunnel that led to the seats of the Kingdome. I never let him let go of my hand. As we reached the end of the tunnel I pushed the brim of my hat up once more and saw the most beautiful thing I had ever seen in my young life.

Standing next to one of my favorite people in the world, I looked out on to a baseball diamond for the very first time.

To this day when I walk up the steps of a baseball stadium to see the vast green field in front of me, I reach for my dad’s hand.

Even if he doesn’t happen to be at the game with me, it is my personal ritual.

I feel six years old again.

 Baseball can make you experience the most overwhelming joy… It can make you experience the most agonizing sorrow… While you can come to appreciate it’s complexity, if you don’t love it right away it won’t ever become part of your soul.

If you are lucky however, it will always be something you love and enjoy.

Below are a few of my favorite pictures I have taken at many games and stadiums.

Please be aware these are pictures taken by me… They are not for use elsewhere.

View Fenway Park from the Green Monster September 2013 by Kira Bottles

View Fenway Park from the Green Monster September 2013 by Kira Bottles

Safeco Field Summer 2014 By Kira Bottles

Safeco Field Summer 2014 By Kira Bottles

Texas Rangers Player In the Seattle Sun 2008 By Kira Bottles

Texas Rangers Player In the Seattle Sun 2008 By Kira Bottles

Jon Lester and David Ortiz 2014 by Kira Bottles

Jon Lester and David Ortiz 2014 by Kira Bottles

Leave a Reply

