Matthews Winery

Recently I had the very good fortune to be invited to a private tasting at Matthews Winery in Woodinville.

View of cellar from grass, has Matthews banner

Having lived in Woodinville for many years I have been past Matthews several times. The two times I had been there I was ill and couldn’t wine taste. (Insert sad face here!)

This time however I was more than ready to drink some wine. I was fortunate enough to spend the afternoon with one of Matthews owners, Diane Otis and their customer relations manager Ann.

Matthews is set just outside the main circle of wineries in the Woodinville wine district.

This boutique winery was established in 1993 by a local family and focuses on maintaining production of Bordeaux-style and single varietal vineyard-designated wines. Everything from the labels, to the wine is created with enthusiastic passion. You will be hard pressed to find a wine in either the Tenor or Matthews lines that you won’t enjoy!

This winery is unique in that it features a barrel room and an estate house that also doubles as a wedding venue or bed and breakfast!

Tenor Classic of Cellar

BarrelRoom4

When you walk in to the barrel room you will be stuck by how warm and inviting it is.  Check out the magazines on the book shelves and the really great state of Washington wine map! (I kind of want one of theses!)  If you are lucky you may also be greeted by little Miss Freckles! (Diane’s lovely little pup who I took to right away of course! How could you not just melt when that face looks up at you!)

IMG_2106

The Estate house is gorgeous! The very first time I visited Matthews I was a guest of a wedding. This house is the perfect place for an intimate reception. The deck off the estate house provides the perfect location to either dance the night away or watch the sun set over the Woodinville wine valley… with a glass of their wine of course.

Living Room & Kitchen View copy

Check out their Vemo tour of the estate house here!

If you are looking for a great place to spend a Friday night with friends look no further than Matthew’s Friday Night Live live music. Generally held from 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm, these concerts take place at the tasting room. Even if it’s a little chilly at night don’t worry! Grab a glass of wine (or a bottle), and sit down under one of the patio heaters and enjoy!

Now to the wine!

Tenor1_SauvBlancSyrahMattClarResRed

As I said above, this boutique winery offers two different labels; Tenor and Matthews.

I tasted four of the Tenor wines and the Matthews Claret.

Below are my favorites!

2130 Tenor Sauvignon Blanc 

Details

I happen to be partial to Sauvignon Blanc’s from Washington and I was certainly not disappointed with this one! This Sav-Blanc is crisp with just the right amount of citrus. I happen to love hints of grapefruit in my white wine and this one had just the right amount. Even if you think you don’t like whites or citrus, I encourage you to try this wine. It will be perfect for a warm summer evening on the deck or boat!

-What I would pair with this wine –

 Caprese salad and grilled lemon butter salmon

2011 Matthews Columbia Valley Claret

Details

Ahhhh where do I start with this wine. I LOVE this wine. Not to fruity, not to spicy, for me, this is the goldilocks of red wines.. it’s just right! I can’t imagine anyone not loving this. This wine received 90 points from Wine Advocate and Double Gold from Seattle Wine Award! I would keep a case of this around for me and to take as a ridiculously amazing hostess gift. A little spicy, a hint of currents, and just enough fruit to make it decadent.

-What I would pair with this wine-

My caramelized onion, cremini mushroom, and arugula cream pasta. (recipe coming soon)

2011 Tenor Syrah

Details

Described as a wine with hints of black fruit, baking slices, and tobacco leaf. This is another great wine to have around the house for a cool night curled up on the couch or an evening spent with friends around the outdoor fireplace. Even if you aren’t a huge fan of red wine I would encourage you to try this! I happen to love red wines, and I wouldn’t mind having a few bottles of this on my bar cart. This wine received 92 points from Wine Advocate and Gold from Seattle Wine Awards.

– What I would pair with this wine-

Steak au poise with or without cream sauce. Blue cheese and pear salad with dijon vinaigrette.

If you are in Woodinville I really encourage you to stop by and enjoy a tasting at Matthews! You will not be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

